Faroe Islands

Faroe Islands
Flag of the Faroes

The Faroes are a group of islands in the North Atlantic Ocean, about halfway from Iceland to Norway. Those who come to Iceland by the ferry Norröna of the faroese shipping company Smyril Line, also pass the archipelago of Faroe in the Northatlantic. The Icelandic airline Air Iceland also offers flights and short trips starting in Reykjavik.

The archipelago consists of 18 islands, of which 16 are constantly inhabited and one island is temporarily inhabited. Like Greenland, the Faroe islands are an autonomic part of Denmark. Their landscape reminds on Ireland and some parts of Iceland. Also the climate is very similar to Iceland, however tends to be a little bit warmer and fairly windy. Desolate valleys, cliffs with screeching sea birds, lush fields with bleating sheep and idyllic farming and fishing villages are what the traveller finds here. Also in the small capital Tórshavn one can explore a lot. Historic buildings, interesting museums and pictorial houses are waiting for the visitor - surrounded by a rough and intact nature midst the ocean.

Key facts on the Faroes

The following table shows some basic facts about the Faroe Islands:

Kirkjubøur, Streymoy Island, Faroes
Location (Tórshavn) 62° north latitude
06°47 west longitude
Area 1,395.74 square kilometers
Costline 1.289 km
Highest mountain Slættaratindur on the island Nord-Eysturoy (882 m)
Temperature 6,5 °C (annual average)
Population: 49.200 Einwohner
Capital Tórshavn (12,600 inhabitants)
Population density 34.5 inhabitants per square kilometers
Official language Faroese, Danish
Monarch: Margrethe II.
Currency Faroese króna (Fkr.)
National holiday 29. July
Country Symbol FO
Calling code + 298

Photo gallery: The Faroe Islands

Further topics

Book excursions online

- Advertisement -